Kentucky Sports Radio, Weekdays, 9-11a
Kentucky Sports Radio, Weekdays, 9-11a
Kentucky Sports Radio, Weekdays, 9-11a
The Dan Patrick Show, Weekdays 11a-2p
The Dan Patrick Show,  Weekdays 11a-2p
The Dan Patrick Show,  Weekdays 11a-2p
Click to Vote
Wilmer Flores and Justin Ruggiano homered as the New York Mets beat the St. Louis Cardinals 7-4 on Tuesday night.

Jose Reyes reached four base times and scored three runs. Asdrubal Cabrera had three hits, drove in a run and scored once.

The offense helped Robert Gsellman (1-0) get the decision in his major league debut. Gsellman, pressed into action after starter Jonathon Niese left with an injury in the first inning, pitched 3 2/3 innings without allowing an earned run.

Jeurys Familia earned his 42nd save, one shy of the Mets' season record set by Familia last year and Armando Benitez in 2001.

Cardinals lefty Jaime Garcia (10-9) gave up a season-high six runs at home, in just four innings. New York broke a 22 1/3-inning streak in which Garcia hadn't given up an earned run at home to the Mets.

Matt Kemp's two-out, bases-loaded double in the eighth inning erased a one-run Arizona lead and the Atlanta Braves beat the Diamondbacks 7-4 on Tuesday night in the second of a four-game series between teams with the two worst records in the National League.

Kemp earned two RBIs on the hit and a third run scored when right fielder Mitch Haniger bobbled the ball. Kemp also had an sacrifice fly.

Adonis Garcia had three hits, including a double, and scored twice for the Braves, who have won two of three after losing seven straight. Dansby Swanson earned his first major league RBI with a sacrifice fly in the ninth.

Jose Ramirez (2-0) allowed a hit and hit a batter but struck out the side in the seventh to get the victory. Jake Barrett (1-2) took the loss. Jim Johnson pitched a scoreless ninth for his 11th save.

Jake Arrieta threw eight scoreless innings of two-hit ball to become the NL's first 16-game winner and Kris Bryant and Addison Russell homered, leading the Chicago Cubs over the San Diego Padres 5-3 on Tuesday night.

Arrieta (16-5) allowed a single to Alex Dickerson in the second and Christian Bethancourt's double in the eighth. Arrieta has two no-hitters in the past year.

The Padres brought the go-ahead run to the plate in the ninth, but Aroldis Chapman got the last two outs for his 28th save after Felix Pena was charged with three runs.

Bryant's 33rd home run tied him with Colorado's Nolan Arenado for the NL lead.

Russell smacked his fifth homer in five games, a two-run shot that put the Cubs ahead 4-0 in the fifth.

Arrieta won for the fourth straight start. He had six strikeouts and three walks.

Christian Friedrich (4-10) lost his eighth consecutive decision.

Jose Abreu homered for a third straight game, Carlos Rodon threw 6 2/3 scoreless innings and the Chicago White Sox beat the slumping Philadelphia Phillies 9-1 on Tuesday night.

Abreu hit a two-run home run and Justin Morneau followed with a solo shot in the fifth off Jake Thompson (1-3), who gave up seven runs and eight hits in five innings.

Rodon (4-8) allowed three hits and has a 1.46 ERA in his past four starts after missing most of July with a sprained left wrist suffered when he slipped on the dugout steps.

Adam Eaton tripled, singled and scored twice and Tim Anderson tripled, reached base three times and drove in a run as Chicago built a 9-0 lead in its third straight win.

Freddy Galvis homered off Chris Beck in the seventh to end a 17-inning scoreless streak for the Phillies, who have dropped five of seven.

Here are scores from Tuesday night's high school sporting events featuring local teams.

Boys Soccer

Graves County 3, Marshall County 2

1st Region All A Classic
Murray 8, Mayfield 1
St. Mary 5, Ballard Memorial 0

2nd Region All A Classic

UHA 1, Caldwell County 0 (penalty kicks)
Lyon County 9, Dawson Springs 2

Girls Soccer
Graves County 8, Marshall County 4
Trigg County 4, Christian County 1

1st Region All A Classic
Murray 11, Mayfield 0
Ballard Memorial 4, St. Mary 2

2nd Region All A Classic
UHA 11, Caldwell County 1
Crittenden County 4, Lyon County 2

Hickman County 3, Lake County, TN 0 (25-6, 25-11, 25-3)
Marshall County 3, Calloway County 1 (25-21, 25-13, 21-25, 25-16)
McCracken County 3, Paducah Tilghman 0 (25-12, 25-9, 25-6)
Graves County 3, Livingston Central 0 (25-22, 25-16, 25-7)
Ballard Memorial 3, Murray 1 (17-25, 25-21, 25-19, 25-12)
Carlisle County 3, St. Mary 0 (25-10, 25-4, 26-24)
Christian Fellowship 3, CCA 1 (25-21, 24-26, 26-24, 25-23)
Mayfield 3, Union City, TN 1 (27-25, 25-21, 20-25, 25-15)